The independent London newspaper

Shortlist for Westminster Community Awards announced

Winners will be announced at a ceremony on July 4

21 April, 2017 — By Alina Polianskaya

The Berwick Street Traders Society is among nominees for an award

A SHORTLIST has been announced for the Westminster Community Awards.

The Berwick Street Traders Society, which led the campaign to keep the historic Soho market from being privatised, is on the list as well as Central London Samaritans, Hear Women, Beauchamp Lodge Settlement and the Westminster Independent Custody Visitor Scheme.

Robin Smith, who runs the Berwick Street group, said he felt “vindicated”, adding: “Seeing the other nominations, we now feel humbled. It goes to show how important Berwick Street Market is to people.”

Those up for the Inspirational Award include Christine Yau, chairwoman of the Chinese Community Centre in Chinatown. Ms Yau is also with the London Chinatown Chinese Association and runs YMing restaurant. She is up against Alan Boyd, Brenda Meadows, Doreen McNelly, Gwyneth Williams, Jennifer Hayden and Wilfried Rimensberger.

Other categories include the Neighbourhood Project Award, the Corporate Contribution to the Community Award, the Sir Simon Milton award and the Young or Student Volunteer award. Perhaps the most coveted of the lot is the City for All volunteer of the Year Award. Nominees for this category are Barbara Hedin, Daphne Whyte, Edmond Yeo, Patricia Aitzian, Sheila D’Souza and Patricia Deeks.

The winners are due to be announced at an award ceremony at Porchester Hall in Bayswater on July 4.

Share this story

Post a comment